Jackalope Jinx Fabric Design – Spoonflower Competition

I’ve been working hard in the evenings over the last few weeks on a new venture of pattern design for fabric and other applications!

Getting back into drawing and illustration has been really great as it has been a long time since I did any.

I entered my first Spoonflower Design Competition last week themed Birds & Blooms with a design called ‘Pheasants & Phlowers’. Much to my despair the design didn’t win! But it was great for exposure – with this in mind I’ve sought to enter more of Spoonflower’s weekly design comps. Even if I never get into the top 25 it’s still really great to be handed a theme instead of having to deliberate over one for myself and good practice to be working to a deadline.

PheasantPatternFinalBrushes
Pheasant & Phlowers available on Spoonflower.com

 

 

The newest competition them is sponsored by Skillshare and is Whimsical Watercolours: Fantasy Creatures. As per usual I thought I’d lean away from the crowd of designers going for your Dragons, Unicorns and Mermaids and go with the lesser loved Jackalope!

 

JackalopeDraftReapeating1
Draft of Jacklope Jink design layout

Always having been fascinated with these fabulous horned Hares it was a great opportunity to be the champion for the Jackalope and to hone in on my deigns and styles as it’s still all fairly new to me.

fox4.jpg
Alcohol Inks splatter textures for colour backgrounds

 

The final design I am really pleased with, if anyone wanted to help me and out and Vote for my design in the contest it would of course be immensely appreciated!!

Link for voting here: Spoonflower Design Competiton Whimsical Watercolors: Fantasy Creatures

 

JackalopeFINALPREVIEW
Jackalope Jinx on spoonflower.com

Jackalope Jinx will soon be available as a printed fabric alongside the other designs in the Bowerbird House Spoonflower design library

Leave a Reply

